• The server migration is complete. Please let Viqsi know (in Forum Business/Rules/Discussion) if anything seems weird or broken.

A Supreme Election

Over the past 10 days or so, a few major Supreme Court decisions were passed down. These were simultaneously not as big of a deal as some people will have you believe and a much bigger deal that some people will have you believe. The internet is fun like that. I, true to form, am somewhere down the middle. The true impact of these decisions is unclear, and a lot depends on what happens in the next few elections.

But first the disclaimers. I am an attorney. That does not mean any of this is legal advice. More importantly, I do mergers and acquisitions. Recently, I had to do a little case law research. I had to create a new Westlaw account because I hadn’t created one since joining my new firm two years ago. In other words, while I understand how to think like a lawyer, none of this is in my wheelhouse. So, take this all with a pinch of salt.

First, let’s start with some optimism – the reason these cases may not be that big of a deal. Overturning the Chevron deference is absolutely important to administrative law and appropriate regulations. However, I understand there is still some level of deference given to experts, even if it’s not the same level of deference in Chevron. Similarly, in the Trump immunity case, there are still ways other than the threat of post-presidency prosecution to prevent a regal presidency.